The ECRF (EORTC Cancer Research Fund) is governed by a Council, Executive Board, and Finance Committee. Members ensure the proper use and distribution of the funds to research and follow-up projects.

In addition, three elected members from the ECRF sit on the EORTC General Assembly to ensure communication between members.

ECRF is privileged to count HRH Princess Dina Mired as its Honorary President and Count Diego du Monceau de Bergendal as the Chairman of the Fund.




ECRF’s mission is to promote, encourage and
support clinical research on the treatment of cancer
under the auspices of the EORTC.

Focus - Illustration


  • Creation of the EORTC Foundation.

    HRH Prince Philip, the Duke of Edinburgh becomes the first Honorary President.

  • EORTC Fellowship Program is launched. Fellows from around the world spend 1 to 3 years at EORTC headquarters, engaged in work related to EORTC research projects or programs and becoming familiar with practical aspects of clinical research including clinical trial methodology, regulatory affairs, data management, statistics, medical monitoring and the reporting of results.

  • H.M. Queen Sofia of Spain becomes Honorary President.

  • H.M. Queen Silvia of Sweden becomes Honorary President.

  • H.R.H Princess Astrid of Belgium becomes Honorary President.

  • Walgreens Boots Alliance (WBA) forms a partnership with ECRF to support the creation of the SPECTA platform. WBA committed €5m over five years for this pioneering project by fundraising through its companies in Europe.

    • EORTC 50th Anniversary.
    • Leukemia in the elderly: a project sponsored by The ‘HRH Prince Alwaleed Foundation’. After completion of the first phase, the research project was presented at the American Society of Hematology’s prestigious conference in New Orleans, (USA).
    • ECRF receives annual core support of €1.3 million from various European national cancer charities and the Hong Kong Cancer Fund.
    • Launch of Sallie Snowman Survivorship Initiative, studying key clinical questions concerning long-term cognitive effects in patients after a cancer treatment. This initiative also addresses cancer socio-economical and psychological issues.
    • EORTC Survivorship Gala
    • Princess Astrid of Belgium passes ECRF Honorary Presidency
      to H.S.H Prince Albert II of Monaco
    • Sir Ronald Grierson, EORTC Foundation founding Chairman, retires
    • Sir Christopher Mallaby retires to become Honorary Vice President
    • Count Diego du Monceau de Bergendal becomes Chairman
    • Professor John Smyth becomes ECRF Vice Chairman
    • Transatlantic Rare Cancers Initiative begins.
  • H.S.H Prince Albert II of Monaco, together with the Walgreens Boots Alliance (WBA), hosted the first gala fundraiser in Monaco raising €1.1million for EORTC’s practice changing cancer research.

  • EORTC Survivorship Gala in Brussels attended by H.S.H Prince Albert II of Monaco.

  • The Walgreens Boots Alliance (WBA) partnership with ECRF is renewed for another 5 years. The second phase of the partnership focuses on expanding the SPECTA platform across cancer types.

  • H.S.H Prince Albert II of Monaco, together with the Walgreens Boots Alliance (WBA), hosted a gala fundraiser in Monaco that generated €1.2 million to support two ground-breaking EORTC initiatives: SPECTA and E2-RADIatE platforms.

  • 1976
  • 1991
  • 1992
  • 1997
  • 2003
  • 2011
  • 2012
  • 2013
  • 2014
  • 2015
  • 2016
  • 2018
  • 2019
Sign up